Carnell Tate, Brian Hartline Ohio State Buckeyes

Buckeyes Welcome 11 Early Enrollees As Classes Get Underway

COLUMBUS — The spring semester at Ohio State got underway on Monday, which also means the collegiate career of the newest Buckeye football players officially began as well.

Ohio State has so far signed 20 players in their 2023 recruiting class, and 11 of them are already enrolled and taking part in classes. Eight of those players are on offense, and three are on defense.

Receivers Carnell Tate, Bryson Rodgers, and Noah Rogers will add to an ever-growing receiver room for the Buckeyes this spring.

Tate (6-2 180) took part in the All-American Bowl this past weekend, while Rogers was playing in the Under Armour All-American Game a week or so ago. Tate (6-2 195) is originally from Chicago, but played at IMG Academy in Florida. Rogers is from Rolesville High School in Rolesville, North Carolina. He finished his high school career with over 3,200 yards receiving.

Tight end Jelani Thurman will join a room that just got word on Monday that starter Cade Stover was returning for a fifth season. Thurman (6-6 225) is a vertical pass-catching threat who caught 36 passes for 582 yards and 12 touchdowns as a senior this year.

The Buckeyes signed four offensive linemen, and all four are already on campus. Luke Montgomery (6-5 295) and Miles Walker (6-6 285) will start out at tackle, while Austin Siereveld (6-5 330) will start out at guard, and Josh Padilla (6-4 285) will get his first look at center.

Montgomery was at the All-American Bowl this weekend as well. He was one of seven Buckeyes there, which included safety Malik Hartford, who is also already enrolled.

Hartford (6-3 175) is a hard-hitting safety with range and was named the Division I Co-Defensive Player of the Year in 2022.

The Buckeyes are welcoming in two other in-state defenders early as well. Defensive tackle Will Smith, Jr. is a defensive line legacy who is only getting better. Smith (6-3 285) played at Dublin Coffman, posting 47 tackles, 14 tackles for loss, and five sacks in 10 games this past season.

Cornerback Jermaine Mathews (6-0 180) was the Division II Defensive Player of the Year at Winton Woods in Cincinnati. He tallied 51 tackles this year with four forced fumbles, four fumble recoveries, and six interceptions. He returned three of his six interceptions for touchdowns. He is an offensive player on defense, which is exactly what OSU defensive coordinator Jim Knowles wants.

The nine players who will enroll in June are quarterback Lincoln Kienholz, receiver Brandon Inniss, defensive linemen Kayden McDonald, Joshua Mickens, and Jason Moore, linebacker Arvell Reese, cornerback Calvin Simpson-Hunt, and safeties Cedrick Hawkins and Jayden Bonsu.

Go to discussion...