Three Buckeyes Named Captains For 2023 Football Season

Ohio State has announced the football captains for the 2023 Buckeyes, and all three are fifth-year seniors.

Linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, tight end Cade Stover, and receiver Xavier Johnson were announced on Saturday as this year’s edition of Buckeye football captains.

Eichenberg and Stover are repeat captains from last season, but this is Johnson’s first captaincy. Earlier on Saturday, he was also announced as this year’s recipient of the Block O jersey.

Eichenberg led the Buckeyes last year with 120 tackles and 12.0 tackles for loss. And he did so while playing a portion of the season with two broken thumbs. Stover finished third on the team last year with 36 receptions. His 406 yards receiving and five touchdowns were good for fourth on the team.

Johnson was a valuable utility weapon on offense for the Buckeyes, saving his best in the biggest games for Ohio State. That will continue this year as well.

Three captains is a lower number than the Buckeyes have worked with in the past. In recent years they have usually had at least six, including last season. The move to three is an interesting one, but the three players that were chosen make complete sense.

Go to discussion...